Outstanding Research Publication Award


The Foundation for the Advancement of Human Systems (FAHS) annually confers up to two awards to recognize a published article, monograph, book chapter or book that represents an outstanding scholarly achievement in family therapy research. Outstanding scholarly achievement is construed broadly to include a variety of methods and inquiry (quantitative, qualitative, or conceptual), and a variety of findings, including those that confirm previous work, challenge previous work, or generate new areas of inquiry.


This award may be self-nominated or nominated by a third party and at least one applicant must be a member of AAMFT. Nominator must submit the article along with a written statement (500 words max) of why the article should be selected.

Letter of Recommendation

All self-nominations require a letter of recommendation to be submitted with materials.


The award consists of:

  • An engraved plaque presented at an AAMFT event (virtual or in person).
  • Reimbursement of up to $500 per recipient for travel to the AAMFT Event (when applicable).

How to apply:  In order to quality for this award, interested candidates must complete an online application  .  

Note: The event registration fee will also be waived for the award recipient(s) (when applicable).
The AAMFT Systemic Family Therapy Conference registration fee will be waived for all award recipients. In order to avoid the perception of a conflict of interest, anyone who is on the AAMFT, The Foundation for the Advancement of Human Systems, or AAMFT sponsored payroll is ineligible to be considered for an award so long as that financial relationship exists.  All award recipients must be members of AAMFT with the exception of those receiving the Excellence in Media award, and at least one author of the Outstanding Research Publication award must be a member.  

2023 Award Recipients

Michael Curtis


Past Recipients of the Outstanding Research Publication Award

  • Kendal Holtrop (2022)
  • Joshua Novak (2022)
  • Marjorie Nightingale (2021)
  • Christiana Ibilola Awosan (2021)
  • Katherine Stavrianopoulos (2021)
  • Rachael Dansby Olufowote (2021)
  • Stephen Fife (2021)
  • Cydney Schleiden (2021)
  • Jason Whiting (2021)
  • Ruben Parra- Cardona (2017)
  • Andrea Wittenborn (2017)
  • William R. Shadish (1996)
  • Kevin Ragsdale (1996)
  • Renita Glaser (1996)
  • Linda Montgomery (1996)
  • David Miklowitz (1998)
  • Mark Butler (1999)
  • Karen Wampler (1999)
  • Robert B. Hampson (2000)
  • Robert Beavers (2000)
  • Catherine Prince (2000)
  • J. Douglas Coatsworth (2003)
  • Hilda Pantin (2003)
  • Jose Szapocznik (2003)
  • Laura D. Hanish (2003)
  • Mary M. McKay (2003)
  • Mitchell H. Dickey (2003)